classes of plasmids according to function

A plasmid is a small, circular, double-stranded DNA molecule that is distinct from a cell’s chromosomal DNA. Plasmids naturally exist in bacterial cells, and they also occur in some eukaryotes.
plasmids can be classified according to function. If we are to classify plasmids based on function then there are 5 major classes of plasmids.

  1. Fertility F plasmids :
    Fertility plasmids contain tra
    genes. They are capable of conjugation and
    result in the expression of sex pili.

  2. Resistance plasmids :
    From the name its easier to deduce that they are plasmids which contain
    genes that provide resistance against
    antibiotics or poisons . That’s to say that resistance is their major function. Also known
    as R-factors.

  3. Col plasmids :
    Col plasmids contain genes that
    code for bacteriocins, proteins that can kill
    other bacteria.

  4. Degradative plasmids
    Degradative plasmids, which enable the
    digestion of unusual substances,

  5. Virulence plasmids :
    The function of virulence plamid is to turn the
    bacterium into a pathogen .
    Plasmids can belong to more than one of
    these functional groups.e.g salicylic acid.

Author: HandsomebeautyGarden

Follow Us on Instagram **** Twitter **** Youtube **** Facebook **** Contact Us ***** google+

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s